The Journey Towards Self

April 23, 2010

The Book Of Life – 1

Filed under: Story — Uday Trivedi @ 11:50 am
Tags:

It was the time in 2004 when I was thinking about Karma and reincarnation. I was not very clear about them. So I wrote this story to get some clarity. The result is “The Book of Life”.  Being bit long, I will put it in parts. Here is the first part.

~                   ~                    ~

There is no question about my life. I am Brahmavetas. My father was Yogodhar, a Rishi. My mother, Sannidhi was a pious devotee of Hari. When I was in her womb, she chanted Holy Bhagvat Puran and Bhagvad Gita. People said that I was born with Rishi Sanskaras. My childhood was spent along with Yajnas, Vedik Ruchas and self-discipline lessons.

        My father taught me about Brahma and Moksha. The highest realization of absolute self is the prime aim for every Jiva. I was on the path of realization. Then something strange happened.

        I was having some work at a nearby village. It was late in the evening. While coming back through a forest, I heard moaning of a creature. When I searched for it, it happened to be a lioness and two cubs, lying under a cliff. The lioness was looking very weak as she didn’t give any response to my appearance. Within few moments, I understood everything. She had a broken leg and wounded rib. She could not go for hunting. And she and her cubs were starving.

        “How can I help them?” I thought. There was only one way I could help them – By offering myself to them. Within seconds, I took the decision. I said inside myself: “Holy mother and father, you have given me vedik Sanskaras to sacrifice myself to help others. I am fortunate enough to have you both as my parents. But my desire to serve you has not fulfilled yet. I urge God to have both of you as my parents in next life so that I can serve you and pay my debt.”

        And I came nearer to lioness and slept by her side. The lioness tried to move but due to severe weakness, could not move an inch. I then took a sharp stone, dug it into my arm and let the blood flow into her mouth. It was only after this; she got sufficient strength to move and came on me. The last thing I remember was the shine in her eyes and one thought running in my mind – “I HAVE SAVED THEM.”

~ ~ ~

        It is strange how we divert from our path to destination. People say Sanskaras are responsible for it. I say destiny is.

        I am Uttamanas. I was one of the sons of Saint Deveshawar and Devi Purnima. My father and mother were ardent devotees of Shri Hari. I was very proud of them. The only thing I hated from my childhood was falsehood. I couldn’t bear false. I always speak truth and expect others to speak the truth. I had three friends. They all were very wise and intelligent. They were my virtual self. Nobody could separate us.

        Once, one of my friends – Shashivrata, who was fond of wild life creatures – especially tigers and lions, asked us to visit the nearby forest. We all agreed. On one bright day, we started our journey through hills, ponds, valleys and deep forest. We were in such an enthusiastic mood that we were talking very loudly. Suddenly one sound of hissing of one creature made us silent. We guessed right. It was lion. We all started running to save ourselves. I could not think where to go. So I follow Shashivrata. He seemed to know that region well. Eventually, he told me while running hard that there was one tribal community nearby. We ran hard to reach there. But Alas! There were some children playing there. Before we could warn them, the lion came and grabbed one child and vanished! We were totally dumbstruck! It was only when some tribal came running, I got my senses back! The children told them about the incident and they caught and tied us!

        When we were brought to the chief tribal, he blamed us for the loss of child and pondered to kill us in punishment. I tried hard to explain them that it was only an accident and we had no intentions except saving our lives. But nothing convinced them. I became very angry. Those insane and cruel persons! They were going to kill us because of that unfortunate incident upon which no one had power! It was very decisive moment. ”If I want to save our lives, I have to do something right now.” I said to myself. I grabbed one sword nearby and tried to stab the chief of the tribal. But he was more prepared than I thought. He got himself back and stabbed me with his sword. Within moments I realized that I was going to be over! “Oh! My realization…my Sadhana…All these are going to be in vain! After much effort, I have come to this stage and now I would have to start all from that scratch! All this is because of these cruel people! I would kill all these in my next life! I will certainly”. I was full of revenge. I saw them revengefully and darkness permeated me…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.